Saving your mind, and your data

Posted: November 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

Those of you who have been reading over the past week will know that last weekend my computer crashed. As it turns out- not only did it crash, it crashed, drowned, caught fire, and spontaneously combusted all at the same time (figuratively of course). My 1.5 year old computer that I trusted with all my data is gone.

I was fortunate that tech repair was able to retrieve my hard drive for me, so I am now in possession of everything that I thought that I had lost, but it could have been much worse. To me, the greatest inconvenience was that for a week I was unable to access my information while tech services worked on it.

I am usually pretty good about backing up my data onto an external hard drive, but I certainly don’t do it every day (usually once every two weeks or so). For a teacher who is trying as hard as they can to go paperless, there is a lot that can be lost in two weeks.

Apple has a program called Timemachine for the Mac, which I would encourage apple users to use (it should be built into your computer software when you buy it). It saves your information onto an external hard drive (or where ever you choose). The best part is that you can go back to various versions of the file in case you accidentally delete or change a file in a way that you don’t want to.

A similar program for windows users (and one that I’ve decided to use) is Genie Timeline, a free program that is very similar to timemachine. I’ve only been using the program for a few days, but so far I’m impressed. It’s easy to use and set-up, and now that I’ve installed it and set it up, I don’t have to worry about it.

Of course it’s also important to save your information online in case of fire, damage, or theft.. but that’s another post for another time.

Leave a Reply

