Review of Dropbox

Posted: November 23, 2010 in Websites
Tags: , , ,

The technology: Dropbox

My impression:

Dropbox is a website that I wish I had known about before my computer crashed. The service isn’t specific to teachers, but it has been hugely helpful to me at home and at work over the past few weeks I have been using it.

It is extremely simple to use. Simply install dropbox on any computer that you want to sync files from, and place any files that you want to be able to access in your dropbox folder, and it will automatically back up those files online….and now you can access them from any computer that has dropbox installed. Yay!

There are so many great things about this service. It has mobile apps for iPhone and Android (neither of which I’ve used, so I can’t speak to how great they are), and is compatible with Windows, Mac, or Linux, so you can sync from one to another. You can also allow public access to some of your files if you’re seeking an easy way to be able to share files online.

You can purchase a membership, or you can use the free 2GB to try it out on a limited number of files. Saves you from carrying around a USB stick or emailing files to yourself!

Possible uses in the classroom/ Lesson ideas:

When my computer went on the fritz, I was unable to access a variety of documents that I needed for work. Since then I have used Dropbox specifically for my work documents. Now I’m able to access anything I’m working on at home on my computer in the classroom (without any hassle), and I don’t have to worry about any of my files getting lost if my computer dies again.

Pictures:


Where can I learn more?

http://www.dropbox.com

Rating: 5 stars

Comments
  1. Nice post, check out this site for taking your Dropbox account to 19 GB capacity for free!
    http://maxyourdropbox.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

