Review of StudyBlue

Posted: January 14, 2011 in Websites
Tags: , , , , ,

Oh, exam time. The time of year for cramming, reviews, and study groups. In an effort to help my students get the most of their studying, I’ve been introducing them to websites that they can use to better their test scores. Last week, headmagnet, this week: StudyBlue.

The technology: StudyBlue

My impression:

This website is handy because it keeps students notes available to them wherever they are. There’s also a handy linkup to Facebook and Twitter (for students to share their notes and let others know what they’re studying).

One great strength of this program is its portability. The majority of my students are constantly on the go, and this program allows them to study anywhere they have access to their phone. While it doesn’t guide you though your studying like Headmagnet does, StudyBlue does allow for a much greater amount of collaboration between students.

StudyBlue is a good website for students looking to review notes, but its greatness lies in the fact that it allows for students to collaborate with others who are the same class or who are taking the course in a different city. Students can share notes, flashcards, study guides, and past quizzes. For students who are as social as mine, this adds a new facet to studying that makes it more enjoyable and should (hopefully) encourage them to do so more often.

A problem that I can think of is that students who don’t use computers for their notes may have a hard time using the program. They can, however, create flashcards and use them to study, or transcribe their notes as they are preparing to study for quizzes, tests, or exams.

Possible uses in the classroom/ Lesson ideas:

StudyBlue allows students to study their materials whereever they are. While I wouldn’t use it directly in a lesson, I do think it is a valuable website to introduce to students to help them with their studies.

Pictures:


Where can I learn more?

StudyBlue Mobilizes Notes

www.studyblue.com

Rating:

4 stars

Comments
  1. Greetings!

    Thanks for your review of StudyBlue. I’m the Director of Learning at StudyBlue, and it’s great to hear your students are finding StudyBlue a useful tool for studying on the go and collaborating. I noticed you teach Languages. One thing we’re seeing many language teachers do is create flashcard decks containing their weekly vocab lists. Students can then study the flashcards and create quizzes on them. Teachers are also having their students create their own flashcard decks and then requesting the students share the decks with them (via our Share function), so the teacher can confirm the decks have been created.

    These are just two small ways teachers are beginning to use StudyBlue in their classes.

    If I can be of any assistance to you and your students in using StudyBlue, just let me know.

    All the best,
    Matt

    • Hi Matt, Thanks for the comment!
      Those are some great ideas for using StudyBlue in lessons that I hadn’t even considered. Too late for this semester, but I’ll give it a try with my new classes in a few weeks. 🙂

      • Sounds great! I’ll be very interested to hear your thoughts on how those ideas work for you and your students. And as your new semester gets going, I’m also very interested to hear any other ideas you have on using StudyBlue in your lessons.

        Best,
        Matt

  2. […] websites that aim to help students study. The first week I took a look at HeadMagnet, and last week I reviewed StudyBlue.  I found both of these websites to be great new ways to get even the most reluctant of students […]

  3. […] can use their cellphones to access websites like StudyBlue (you can read my review here). One activity that I tried this week was to have students create flashcards in StudyBlue for their […]

Leave a Reply

